How did it start?

I thought I was living the perfect life, with my Husband and two wonderful children. We had spent many years working hard to achieve the perfect home,  and once this was completed I enjoyed the envy on peoples faces when they entered our home, I lapped up the compliments and my ego was hugely inflated,  I got a taste for more, my life was now centered around my ego. I wanted to show the world just how well I was doing in life and this expanded to many areas from cooking the best meals, having the cleanest house,  applying make up just to pop to the shops, and the list went on. It was exhausting.  I would often speak of how I could never live in a filthy house and everything must be perfect, work colleagues would tease me and say I had OCD,  I just took that as a sign that they must be very envious of my life.  I know!  it sounds like I was an absolute asshole and if I’m honest I think I was. My life was about material goods, and what other people thought of me.  As I write this I am reminded of the old me, I feel like I should write about how I regret that time but I believe that everything happens for a reason and if I had not been on that journey I may not have be able to see what I can now.

 

Leave a comment